Moldova Deaf Camp day 6

I did NOT want to get out of bed this morning. It took 4 cups of coffee to wash the cobwebs out of my head. This morning’s devotion was on 

Mathew 5:6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
These kids are some of the hungriest qkids I’ve ever met. Everyday at some point kids corner Daniel and spend hours asking question after question. They want so badly to understand, and yet at the same time they are so scared of the consequences of curiosity about Christianity. They face certain persecution from their family for their simple interest, and great persecution for a conversion to Christianity. The weight of the Russian Orthodox influence is written all over their faces. 

Today the kids seemed tired. They didn’t want to play the game, they didn’t want to move rotations, they seemed to only want to sit in the shade and chat. They complained about the heat, clearly these kids have never been to The South. They don’t know what hot and humid feels like! 

We had supper early tonight because a storm was rolling in and the power went out. After supper it was time for church, there was something in the air tonight. I could feel it. A combination of the storm coming, the leaders, the kids, it was a pretty amazing feeling. Then the clouds but open and it began to POUR. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a church camp when it didn’t rain at least once. The lights flashed and the power was out again. It probably rained really for about and hour. When the rain was over the air here smells so sweet and clean. Chi outside while the sunsets after a storm full of lightning and thunder was pretty amazing. 
For the second time here we had watermelon. I can not begin to describe how sweet it is here. I’m guessing the same reason their wine is so good is the reason the watermelon is spectacular. Becky and I agree it’s much sweeter than in the states. The dirt is black here…so so black. That has to be why the wine and melons are so good. 
The longer we are here the more and faster the laguages barrier breaks down. I can have conversations fairly easy at this point. 

This place is truly amazing. I haven’t even left and I’m already ready to come back. Next year I want to come for longer. 

About this entry