100-250…

Facebook recently did an internal study of the topics that produce the most engagement (People will truly study anything I’m convinced). They looked at all the ins and outs of getting the most exposure out of your Facebook page. One of the things they found I find truly sad.

One singular text message consists of 160 characters.

A Tweet is limited to 140 characters.

The Facebook study found…

“Posts between 100 and 250 characters (less than 3 lines of text) see about 60% more likes, comments and shares than posts greater than 250 characters.”

This message is 140 characters long. That is all you can fit into a tweet without using abbreviations, substitutions, or misspelled words!!!

Twitter is where I personally go to get my tidbits of news, weather, and community info. It’s fast it’s easy and it’s always with me on my phone.

I had a “conversation” recently with a friend. I use the term conversation kind of loosely as it was in text message form. I get a text asking how I am, how my day was, etc. As I answer the questions I in return ask the same questions. I read that the day has been kinda rough and they are feeling worn out. I ask what happened to make the day rough and I wait for an answer hoping I can be some encouragement to them. Instead what I get in return was something to the effect of “It’s too much to text”.

I can understand that as I sit here typing this blog post with my thumbs on the little screen of my phone.

Sometimes it just takes too long to thumb out a story, with enough detail to make sense. It takes half an hour or something like that to text a conversation that in spoken English would take 7 minutes if you sip coffee through the whole thing! So I get it, truly I do.

The sad thing is that text messaging is by far the most preferred method of communication. That isn’t only in the younger generation.

“Text messaging is now the most popular form of daily communication between British adults”

“Text messaging has overtaken speaking on a mobile phone and face-to-face contact as the most-used method of daily communication between friends and family.”

The biggest difference between the “older” generation and the “younger” generation is that the older place face to face in second place, compared to the youngers who place text, social media, and phone calls before face to face.

What kind of people have we become that we would rather tap the face of a phone and send a monotone emotionally vague text rather than face to face over a cup of coffee? Check in over social media than set a dinner date with friends. Our lives have become so busy with doing the next thing that we are missing the things that last.

How many times do we miss out on sharing the love of God with someone because we are looking at our phones, computers, and tablets? How many times do we miss out on holding the hand of a hurting soul because we are checking in online?

I will confess I am guilty of all of these things. I pray I become more conscience of these things. It did take me four days to write this post because I was focusing on those that are in front of me at the time rather than this post. So maybe there is a little hope for me yet…maybe.

May we become more like the first church that longed with everything they had to be with one another daily. May we strive to become like those that followed Christ around and left all they had to be with Him and with their brother and sisters. May we learn to focus on that which is eternal without over looking those that walk along side us. May we long for each other and the fellowship we have to share with each other.

About this entry